On April 30th, the University of Miami School of Communication is hosting the 70th Annual Student Media Awards. The ceremony celebrates the accomplishments of UM’s student media during the 2018-2019 academic year, including Distraction Magazine, UMTV programs, Ibis Yearbook, and The Miami Hurricane.

The awards are also an occasion to celebrate a graduate of the Department of Journalism and Media Management who has made an impact in the media profession.

“Each year, a prominent journalist with ties to UM is honored as the 2019 South Florida Communicator of the Year” said Boriana Treadwell, lecturer for the Department of Journalism and Media Management.

This year’s Communicator of the Year is Javier Morgado, B.S.C. ’98, executive producer of CNN’s morning show, New Day. In his role at CNN, Morgado oversees editorial production and the strategic layout for the entirety of the show.

Since the launch of New Day, Morgado has delivered impressive results by driving the highest yearly ratings and increased viewership by double digits. He was a part of CNN’s team that recently received the Edward R. Murrow Award for their coverage on the devastation Hurricane Maria caused to Puerto Rico.

The 70th Annual Student Media Awards take place in Shoma Hall, CIB 3053, on Tuesday, April 30, at 6 p.m. Food and refreshments will be served.