Department of Journalism & Media Management2022-10-21T15:06:28-04:00

Department of

JOURNALISM & MEDIA MANAGEMENT

ABOUT

The Department of Journalism and Media Management at the University of Miami School of Communication offers undergraduate majors in Journalism, Broadcast Journalism, Electronic Media, and Media Management as well as graduate programs in Journalism and Media Management.xx

Journalism and Media Management faculty teach students to gather content, analyze information, and use technology to tell meaningful stories to global audiences, as well as to understand those audiences and think critically about demographic and usage trends important to today’s media enterprises. Graduates of the department can be found working for news and information operations such as CBS, Fox News, E! Entertainment Television, ESPN, Telemundo, The Washington Post, and National Geographic.

xx A graduate certificate in Media Management is also available.

SPECIAL TOPICS COURSES

Please consider the following Special Topics course offerings from the School of Communication. Spring registration begins on November 7, 2022. Please consult Canelink, the instructor of record, and/or your academic advisor for more information.

JMM 306 section CDEBroadcast Meteorology: This course will be taught by an experience broadcast meteorologist and will introduce the students to the elements of forecasting and weather reporting for broadcast television.

JMM 592 section SAfter Effects: Students will learn to create basic animations, special effects, and motion graphics using Adobe After Effects through project-based instruction relevant to both beginners and experienced users.

JMM 592/625 section TUAdvanced Newsgathering and Writing Seminar

JMM 592/636 section JK2Content Strategy in the Media Industry

JMM 592/692 section CDAdvanced Television Performance

JMM 592/692 section HJ iPhone Photo Illustrations: Students will improve photography skills using smartphones. Students will learn to break or bend many basic rules of photography while taking and editing images for artistic impact. Emphasis will be placed on creativity. The workload includes both taking and editing images.

JMM 592/692 section OSustainability Lab for Excellence in Local News

JMM 592 + STC 490 section DEFStrategic Decision Making + Entrepreneurship in the Global Internet Economy: This is an International Business Course for non-business students. By examining actual business decisions that entrepreneurs, corporate executives, and even government leaders, have made, students learn the key business concepts, including the panoply of available business models.

LATEST NEWS

Career Advice to Graduates: ‘Never Give Up!’

November 21, 2022|

By Andrea Tarrab With 25 years of TV sales experience, Heather Aucoin was the perfect speaker for the Media Management Association to invite to provide career advice to students and identify current trends in the television business. Aucoin has worked for NBCUniversal since 2005, including as an account executive, a Southeast sales leader, and a national sales manager. She has [...]

Featured Projects

A few of our journalism projects, all done by our very own students and faculty.

Faculty

Erin
Brown

erin.brown@miami.edu
(305) 284-2235
View Profile
Alberto Cairo

Alberto
Cairo

a.cairo@miami.edu
(305) 284-3220
View Profile
Paul Driscoll

Paul
Driscoll

pdriscoll@miami.edu
(305) 284-6753
View Profile

Michel
Dupagne

dupagnem@miami.edu
(305) 284-3500
View Profile

Ana
Francois

a.francois@miami.edu
(305) 284-5201
View Profile

Bruce
Garrison

bruce@miami.edu
(305) 284-2846
View Profile

Trevor
Green

trevorgreen@miami.edu
(305) 284-9530
View Profile
Hiram Henriquez

Hiram
Henriquez

hhenriquez@miami.edu
(305) 215-7442
View Profile

Daniel
Hicks

dhicks@miami.edu
(305) 284-5350
View Profile
Sallie Hughes

Sallie
Hughes

shughes@miami.edu
(305) 284-9497
View Profile

Edward
Julbe

ejulbe@miami.edu
(305) 284-5583
View Profile
Antonio Mora

Antonio
Mora

agm143@miami.edu
(305) 284-8163
View Profile

Gina
Presson

gpresson@miami.edu
(305) 284-9320
View Profile

Jyotika
Ramaprasad

jyotika@miami.edu
(305) 284-3743
View Profile

Mitchell
Shapiro

mshapiro@miami.edu
(305) 284-5838
View Profile

Randy
Stano

rstano@miami.edu
(305) 284-2285
View Profile

Sam
Terilli

sterilli@miami.edu
(305) 284-8451
View Profile

Boriana
Treadwell

btreadwell@miami.edu
(305) 284-1812
View Profile

Robert T.
Treadwell

rtt23@miami.edu

View Profile

Joseph B.
Treaster

treaster@miami.edu
(305) 284-5246
View Profile

Tsitsi
Wakhisi

twakhisi@miami.edu
(305) 284-6943
View Profile

Yanfang
Wu

ywu@miami.edu
(305) 284-2358
View Profile