Department of Journalism & Media Management2023-03-09T16:07:08-05:00

Department of

JOURNALISM & MEDIA MANAGEMENT

ABOUT

The Department of Journalism and Media Management at the University of Miami School of Communication offers undergraduate majors in Journalism, Broadcast Journalism, Electronic Media, and Media Management as well as graduate programs in Journalism and Media Management.xx

Journalism and Media Management faculty teach students to gather content, analyze information, and use technology to tell meaningful stories to global audiences, as well as to understand those audiences and think critically about demographic and usage trends important to today’s media enterprises. Graduates of the department can be found working for news and information operations such as CBS, Fox News, E! Entertainment Television, ESPN, Telemundo, The Washington Post, and National Geographic.

xx A graduate certificate in Media Management is also available.

SPECIAL TOPICS COURSES

Please consider the following Special Topics course offerings from the School of Communication. Spring registration begins on November 7, 2022. Please consult Canelink, the instructor of record, and/or your academic advisor for more information.

JMM 233/692 section PTelevision Performance

JMM 361/692 section 5TAdvanced Documentary Photography

JMM 409/692 section QAdvanced Feature Design

JMM 592 section R1After Effects: Students will learn to create basic animations, special effects, and motion graphics using Adobe After Effects through project-based instruction relevant to both beginners and experienced users.

JMM 592 section 4K Advanced Interviewing Techniques

JMM 592/692 section R2Media Sustainability

JMM 692 section 1TBroadcast Studio Production: From Writing to Wrap

LATEST NEWS

Reflections on My 2023 Summer Internship in NYC

August 30, 2023|

By Darby Steininger Darby Steininger is a University of Miami junior majoring in Media Management with a minor in Broadcast Journalism. She agreed to share her experience as a summer intern in 2023. From June 6 to July 16, I worked as a paid intern in the global marketing department of Peter Thomas Roth, a skincare company located in New [...]

Featured Projects

A few of our journalism projects, all done by our very own students and faculty.

Faculty

Erin
Brown

erin.brown@miami.edu
(305) 284-2235
View Profile
Alberto Cairo

Alberto
Cairo

a.cairo@miami.edu
(305) 284-3220
View Profile

Michel
Dupagne

dupagnem@miami.edu
(305) 284-3500
View Profile

Ana
Francois

a.francois@miami.edu
(305) 284-5201
View Profile

Bruce
Garrison

bruce@miami.edu
(305) 284-2846
View Profile
Jon Gorchow

Jon
Gorchow

jrg328@miami.edu
(305) 284-1059
View Profile

Trevor
Green

trevorgreen@miami.edu
(305) 284-9530
View Profile
Hiram Henriquez

Hiram
Henriquez

hhenriquez@miami.edu
(305) 215-7442
View Profile

Daniel
Hicks

dhicks@miami.edu
(305) 284-5350
View Profile
Sallie Hughes

Sallie
Hughes

shughes@miami.edu
(305) 284-9497
View Profile

Edward
Julbe

ejulbe@miami.edu
(305) 284-5583
View Profile
Antonio Mora

Antonio
Mora

agm143@miami.edu
(305) 284-8163
View Profile

Gina
Presson

gpresson@miami.edu
(305) 284-9320
View Profile

Jyotika
Ramaprasad

jyotika@miami.edu
(305) 284-3743
View Profile

Mitchell
Shapiro

mshapiro@miami.edu
(305) 284-5838
View Profile

Randy
Stano

rstano@miami.edu
(305) 284-2285
View Profile

Sam
Terilli

sterilli@miami.edu
(305) 284-8451
View Profile

Robert T.
Treadwell

rtt23@miami.edu

View Profile

Boriana
Treadwell

btreadwell@miami.edu
(305) 284-1812
View Profile

Joseph B.
Treaster

treaster@miami.edu
(305) 284-5246
View Profile

Tsitsi
Wakhisi

twakhisi@miami.edu
(305) 284-6943
View Profile

Yanfang
Wu

ywu@miami.edu
(305) 284-2358
View Profile