About Information Technology

University of Miami School of Communication stays at the forefront of cutting-edge technology in its world-class facilities. Students have access to a wide array of technological resources, ranging from state-of-the-art computer labs to high-end professional equipment. The school prides itself in its ability to transform the lives of students through technology that prepares them for jobs in the industry upon graduation.

The technology in the school is supported by the SoC Support group, comprised of the Office of Information Technology and the Office of Facility Operations and Engineering. SoC Support provides professional help to students, faculty, and staff at the School of Communication. Our goal is to provide effective and efficient IT services to assist the School of Communication in achieving its strategic goals. Services include:

  • Classroom and computer lab support
  • Software troubleshooting
  • Software installation
  • Hardware troubleshooting
  • Hardware installation
  • A/V support
  • Website support
  • Server management

Requesting Assistance

SoC Support can be contacted through the following ways:
Support Hours

Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Saturday: 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.


Information Technology and Web

Brackman, Gabriel

IT & Web Manager
g.brackman@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-5957

Wolfson International Building
Room 3051-B

Delgado, Pedro

Communication Technician
pdelgado@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3696

Wolfson International Building
Room 3051-C

Terrero, Erasmo

Help Desk Technician
e.terrero@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3694

Wolfson International Building
Room 3051


Facility Operations and Engineering

Corea, Jackie

Building Facilities Coordinator
bcorea@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-1147

Frances L. Wolfson Building
Room 2039

Gumbs, Marcia

Secretary
mgumbs@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-2198

Frances L. Wolfson Building
Room 2039

Kinsler, Shane

Production Technician
s.kinsler@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3864

Learning Center
Room LC-15

Landess, Tod

Production Equipment Supervisor
tlandess@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3864

Frances L. Wolfson Building
Room 1014

Lopez, Rodovaldo

Production Technician
rod@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3566

Learning Center
Room LC-15

MacDonald, Wayne

Broadcast Engineer
w.macdonald@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-5348

Learning Center
Room LC-15

Ortiz, Tomas

Director
tortiz@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-6819

Frances L. Wolfson Building
Room 3051-B

Rodriguez, Thomas

Production Specialist
txr118@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-3864

Frances L. Wolfson Building
Room 1013

Thaler, Austin

Communication Technician
athaler@miami.edu
Phone: 305-284-5916

Learning Center
Room LC-15

Google Adwords: