Student Awards

  • The Miami Hurricane, UM’s student-run newspaper, won first place in two categories at the 21st annual Sunshine State Awards held on Saturday, August 15. Winning the top award for Best Student Publication (High Frequency) and Best Website (High Frequency), The Miami Hurricane staff’s hard work was recognized during the statewide contest sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists Florida Pro Chapter.

  • Unsavory, the mobile game developed by NERDLab at the University of Miami’s School of Communication in collaboration with Restaurant Opportunities Centers (ROC) United, won a gold honor in the Games for Good category at the 2015 International Serious Play Awards competition.

    The competition recognizes outstanding examples of titles that deliver a high quality of engagement and learning opportunities for students, employees, or other education or training situations.

  • For the fifth year in a row, School of Communication students took first place in the National Student Advertising Competition Fourth District of the American Advertising Federation held April 18 in Orlando. Under the direction of faculty advisors Meryl Blau and Melissa Jane Barnes, the team beat Florida State University and the University of South Florida, who placed second and third, respectively.

  • By Lizzie Wilcox

    University of Miami’s debate team is comprised of veteran, novice and humble debaters. Regardless of how many years of experience under their belts, Hurricane debaters won awards across the board at the American Debate Association National tournament March 13-16 at the University of Georgia.

  • University of Miami publications received two Gold Crowns and nine Apple Awards at the College Media Association Conference in New York City held March 11-14, 2015. The Crowns are honors given by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and are the highest award a publication can earn from CSPA. Apple Awards, given in honor of David L. Adams, are a Best in Show award given each year at the CMA Spring Conference in New York City.

‹ previous


next ›